Toddler Fall Peasant Dress

I wanted a cute chevron print dress for my daughter to take Fall photos in but they can be so expensive. Thanks to Once Upon A Sewing Machine, I am able to create my own. Start by printing the free pattern.

DSC_0781

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once you cut the pieces out you’ll have two front pieces and two sleeves.

DSC_0783 DSC_0784 DSC_0785

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I attached both of the sleeves, right sides together, to the front.

DSC_0788 DSC_0789 DSC_0790

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now hem the sleeves and bottom of the dress.

DSC_0794DSC_0793

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I sewed the side seams. I went from the bottom of the sleeve all the way down to the bottom of the dress in one straight line. Next take your shearing scissors and trim along the edge.

DSC_0791 DSC_0792

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now I’ll make my casing. I turned my fabric over about 1/4″, then turned it again a little more to create the casing. Stitch the casing, leaving about an inch opening. Now take the elastic and put the safety pin through it. Feed the elastic in and close the opening. I used 18 inches of elastic for the 4T.

DSC_0795 DSC_0796

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I wanted the dress to have a little more fall décor. I made a design in Photoshop and printed it out on iron paper. I’ll trim the excess paper and apply the turkey to the bottom corner.

DSC_0807DSC_0808

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSC_0809

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Make sure to check out Once Upon A Sewing Machine often for more great patterns. Also Google has some awesome free patterns. making your own clothes allows you to be creative and custom! The pictures turned out great and Olivia loved her dress.

momofagem tag

Leave a Reply

